movie, TV, and stage actress. She had recurring roles on such TV series as DALLAS (1979), FALCON CREST (1986-87), SANTA BARBARA (1990), GENERAL HOSPITAL (1996-2010), and AMERICAN HORROR STORY (2012-2013).

movie, TV, and stage actress. She had recurring roles on such TV series as DALLAS (1979), FALCON CREST (1986-87), SANTA BARBARA (1990), GENERAL HOSPITAL (1996-2010), and AMERICAN HORROR STORY (2012-2013).

Personal Info

Known For Acting

Gender Female

Known Credits 70

Birthday 1942-01-15

Day of Death 2016-12-27

Place of Birth Detroit, Michigan, USA

Official Site -

Also Known As

  • Barbara J. Tarbuck

Acting TV ShowsMovies

2015 Come Simi as Lisa
2013 Wild Horses as Becks
2011 American Horror Story (5 episodes) as Mother Superior Claudia
2009 S. Darko as Agatha
2007 Journeyman (1 episode)
2006 Dexter (1 episode) as Sussman's Mother
2006 Smith (1 episode)
2005 Close to Home (1 episode)
2005 Medium (1 episode)
2004 CSI: NY (1 episode)
2004 Medical Investigation (1 episode)
2004 Walking Tall as Connie Vaughn
2003 Cold Case (1 episode)
2003 NCIS (1 episode)
2003 Nip/Tuck (1 episode)
2003 The Tulse Luper Suitcases, Part 1: The Moab Story as Ma Fender
2003 Mister Sterling (1 episode)
2001 Star Trek: Enterprise (1 episode) as Chancellor Kalev
2001 Crossing Jordan (1 episode)
2001 Just Ask My Children as Marilyn Kniffen
2001 Six Feet Under (2 episodes)
2001 The Division (1 episode)
2000 CSI: Crime Scene Investigation (3 episodes)
2000 The Huntress (1 episode)
1999 Judging Amy (1 episode)
1999 Mr. Murder as Grace Wetherall
1998 Before He Wakes as Diane Michaels
1997 The Practice (1 episode)
1995 Eye of the Stalker as Judge Paula Castanon
1995 The Cracker Factory as Alice
1995 The Tie That Binds as Jean Bennett
1995 Scanners: The Showdown as Rachel Staziak
1994 ER (1 episode)
1994 A Kiss Goodnight as Kurt's Secretary
1993 Jack Reed: Badge of Honour as Dora Ferro
1993 Midnight Witness as Lucy
1992 A Child Lost Forever: The Jerry Sherwood Story as Dr. Sackarow
1992 A House of Secrets and Lies as Judy
1991 Curly Sue as Mrs. Arnold
1991 The Death of the Incredible Hulk as Amy Pratt
1989 Quantum Leap (1 episode)
1988 David as Sue Martinez
1988 Out of Time as Dr. Kerry Langdon
1987 Star Trek: The Next Generation (1 episode) as Governor Leka Trion
1987 21 Jump Street (1 episode)
1986 L.A. Law (1 episode)
1986 Big Trouble as Helen
1986 Short Circuit as Senator Mills
1985 The Twilight Zone (1 episode)
1985 The Golden Girls (1 episode)
1985 Moonlighting (1 episode)
1984 Hunter (1 episode)
1982 St. Elsewhere (1 episode)
1982 Newhart (1 episode)
1982 Cagney & Lacey (3 episodes)
1982 Police Squad! (1 episode)
1981 Falcon Crest (7 episodes)
1981 Dynasty (1 episode)
1980 A Christmas Without Snow as Carol Thorpe
1979 Knots Landing (1 episode)
1979 California Fever (1 episode)
1979 Mrs. R's Daughter as Michelle
1979 Night-Flowers as Arlene
1978 The Incredible Hulk (2 episodes)
1977 Lou Grant (1 episode)
1976 Quincy, M.E. (2 episodes)
1976 Charlie's Angels (1 episode)
1974 Little House on the Prairie (1 episode)
1972 M*A*S*H (1 episode)
1972 The Waltons (1 episode)

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page