We don't have a biography for Patrick Troughton.

Personal Info

Known For Acting

Gender Male

Known Credits 105

Birthday 1920-03-25

Day of Death 1987-03-28

Place of Birth Mill Hill, London, England, UK

Official Site -

Also Known As

  • -

Acting TV ShowsMovies

2017 Doctor Who: Twice Upon a Time as The Doctor (archive footage - uncredited)
2013 Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor as The Doctor (archive footage)
2008 Celebration: Doctor Who in 1983 as (archival footage)
2005 Doctor Who (2 episodes) as The Doctor
2003 Patrick Troughton in America as Himself (archive footage)
2001 Longleat 83: The Greatest Show in the Galaxy as Himself (archive footage)
1987 Knights of God (13 episodes)
1987 Inspector Morse (1 episode)
1987 The Dead of Jericho as George Jackson
1986 The Two of Us (30 episodes)
1985 Doctor Who: The Two Doctors as The Doctor
1985 Super Gran (1 episode) as Great Sporran of the Isles
1984 The Box of Delights (6 episodes) as Cole Hawlings
1983 Doctor Who: The Five Doctors as The Doctor
1983 The Cleopatras (8 episodes)
1982 Foxy Lady (12 episodes)
1979 Minder (1 episode)
1978 Edward and Mrs Simpson (3 episodes)
1978 A Hitch in Time as Professor Wagstaff
1978 The Devil's Crown (4 episodes)
1978 All Creatures Great and Small (1 episode)
1977 Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger as Melanthius
1976 Yanks Go Home (1 episode)
1976 Lorna Doone (5 episodes)
1976 The Feathered Serpent (12 episodes)
1976 The Omen as Father Brennan
1975 Angels (1 episode)
1975 Survivors (1 episode)
1975 Nurse Will Make It Better as Lyall
1975 The Sweeney (1 episode)
1974 Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill (2 episodes)
1973 Warship (1 episode)
1973 Thriller (1 episode)
1973 Whoops Baghdad (1 episode)
1973 Doctor Who: The Three Doctors as The Doctor
1972 Colditz (1 episode)
1972 Crown Court (1 episode)
1972 Van der Valk (1 episode)
1971 The Persuaders! (1 episode)
1971 Jason King (1 episode)
1971 The Two Ronnies (1 episode)
1970 The Goodies (1 episode)
1970 Scars of Dracula as Klove
1970 Play for Today (3 episodes)
1970 Doomwatch (1 episode)
1970 The Six Wives of Henry VIII (5 episodes)
1969 Paul Temple (1 episode)
1969 Doctor Who: The War Games as The Doctor
1969 Doctor Who: The Space Pirates as The Doctor
1969 Doctor Who: The Seeds of Death as The Doctor
1969 Doctor Who: The Krotons as The Doctor
1968 Doctor Who: The Invasion as The Doctor
1968 Doctor Who: The Mind Robber as The Doctor
1968 Doctor Who: The Dominators as The Doctor
1968 Doctor Who: The Wheel in Space as The Doctor
1968 Doctor Who: Fury from the Deep as The Doctor
1968 Doctor Who: The Web of Fear as The Doctor
1968 Doctor Who: The Enemy of the World as Dr. Who/Salamander
1967 Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors as The Doctor
1967 Doctor Who: The Abominable Snowmen as The Doctor
1967 Doctor Who: The Tomb of the Cybermen as The Doctor
1967 Doctor Who: The Evil of the Daleks as The Doctor
1967 Doctor Who: The Faceless Ones as The Doctor
1967 Doctor Who: The Macra Terror as The Doctor
1967 The Viking Queen as Tristram
1967 Doctor Who: The Moonbase as The Doctor
1967 Doctor Who: The Underwater Menace as The Doctor
1967 Doctor Who: The Highlanders as The Doctor
1966 Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks as Dr. Who
1966 Doctor Who: The Tenth Planet as The Doctor
1966 David Copperfield (1 episode)
1966 Softly, Softly (2 episodes)
1964 The Black Torment as Regis
1964 The Gorgon as Inspector Kanof
1964 The Wednesday Play (1 episode)
1964 Sherlock Holmes (1 episode)
1963 Doctor Who (1 episode) as The Doctor (uncredited) (126 episodes) as The Doctor (1 episode)
1963 The Sentimental Agent (1 episode)
1963 Jason and the Argonauts as Phineas
1962 The Old Curiosity Shop (13 episodes)
1962 The Saint (2 episodes) as Insp. Gambetti
1962 Dr. Finlay's Casebook (7 episodes)
1962 The Phantom of the Opera as The Rat Catcher
1962 Compact (370 episodes)
1962 Z-Cars (4 episodes)
1961 Sir Francis Drake (3 episodes)
1960 Inspector Maigret (2 episodes)
1960 Danger Man (2 episodes)
1959 International Detective (2 episodes)
1959 No Hiding Place (4 episodes)
1958 The Adventures of William Tell (1 episode)
1958 The Moonraker as Captain Wilcox
1956 1984 as Man on Telescreen (uncredited)
1956 The Count of Monte Cristo (3 episodes)
1955 The Adventures of the Scarlet Pimpernel (18 episodes)
1955 The Adventures of Robin Hood (8 episodes)
1954 The Black Knight as King Mark
1953 Robin Hood (6 episodes)
1951 The Franchise Affair as Bill Brough
1950 The Woman with No Name as Colin
1950 Waterfront Women as Sam (uncredited)
1950 Treasure Island as Roach
1950 Chance of a Lifetime as Kettle
1948 Hamlet as Player King
1948 R.U.R. as Radius, a robot

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page