• User


The Philco Television Playhouse is an American anthology series that was broadcast live on NBC from 1948 to 1955. Produced by Fred Coe, the series was sponsored by Philco. It was one of the most respected dramatic shows of the Golden Age of Television, winning a 1954 Peabody Award and receiving eight Emmy nominations between 1951 and 1956.

Series Cast

  1. Bert Lytell

    Bert Lytell


    264 Episodes

  2. E.G. Marshall

    E.G. Marshall

    13 Episodes

  3. Vinton Hayworth

    Vinton Hayworth

    10 Episodes

  4. David Opatoshu

    David Opatoshu

    8 Episodes

  5. Walter Matthau

    Walter Matthau

    7 Episodes

Full Cast & Crew

Last Season

Season 8

1955 | 12 Episodes

Season 8 of The Philco Television Playhouse premiered on September 4, 1955.

View All Seasons

The Philco Television Playhouse
The Philco Television Playhouse


We don't have enough data to suggest any TV shows based on The Philco Television Playhouse. You can help by rating TV shows you've seen.


Status Ended


  • See more TV shows from NBC...

Certification -

Type Scripted

Original Language English

Runtime 60m



Content Score


We're so close, yet so far.

Top Contributors

Popularity Trend

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page