Dick Van Patten was an American actor best known for his role as Tom Bradford on the TV show Eight Is Enough. Van Patten also made appearances in the films Spaceballs, Soylent Green, and Robin Hood: Men in Tights.

Dick Van Patten was an American actor best known for his role as Tom Bradford on the TV show Eight Is Enough. Van Patten also made appearances in the films Spaceballs, Soylent Green, and Robin Hood: Men in Tights.

Personal Info

Known For Acting

Gender Male

Known Credits 106

Birthday 1928-12-09

Day of Death 2015-06-23

Place of Birth -

Official Site -

Also Known As

  • -

Acting TV ShowsMovies

Mama (1 episode)
2016 Silver Skies as Himself
2009 Opposite Day as Jack Benson
2009 Celebrity Ghost Stories (1 episode)
2006 Rob & Big (2 episodes)
2005 Spaceballs: The Documentary as Himself
2004 Living in TV Land (1 episode)
2004 Quiet Kill as Frank Rubin
2004 The Sure Hand of God as Jamie Denton
2003 Arrested Development (1 episode)
2003 Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star as Himself
2002 Groom Lake as Irv Barnett
2002 Another pretty face
2000 Big Brother Trouble as Captain Stacey
1999 Family Guy (2 episodes)
1999 Angel on Abbey Street as Preacher
1998 That '70s Show (1 episode)
1998 Evasive Action as Parole Officer
1996 7th Heaven (1 episode)
1996 Love Is All There Is as Dr. Rodino
1996 Demolition High as General Wainwright
1996 E! True Hollywood Story (2 episodes)
1996 Sherman's Way: A Kid's Guide to Coping with Change as Grandpa
1995 A Dangerous Place as Principal
1995 Cybill (1 episode)
1994 Touched by an Angel (2 episodes)
1993 Diagnosis: Murder (1 episode)
1993 Boy Meets World (1 episode)
1993 Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman (1 episode)
1993 Robin Hood: Men in Tights as The Abbot
1992 Joker's Wild as Max
1992 The Golden Palace (1 episode)
1992 Final Embrace as Larch
1990 WIOU (20 episodes) as Floyd Graham
1989 An Eight Is Enough Wedding as Tom Bradford
1989 Dirty Tennis as Himself
1988 Going to the Chapel as Rick
1988 The New Adventures of Pippi Longstocking as Greg the Glue Man
1988 14 Going on 30 as Principal John Loonies
1987 A Mouse, a Mystery and Me as Santa Claus
1987 Eight Is Enough: A Family Reunion as Tom Bradford
1987 Spaceballs as King Roland
1987 Full House: Rags to Riches (1 episode)
1986 Combat Academy as Principal
1985 The Midnight Hour as Martin Grenville
1985 Growing Pains (1 episode)
1984 Crazy like a Fox (1 episode)
1984 Murder, She Wrote (1 episode)
1983 Masquerade (1 episode)
1982 Hotel (2 episodes)
1981 Lunch Wagon as Bernie Simmons
1979 Diary of a Teenage Hitchhiker as Herb Thurston
1979 The Facts of Life (1 episode)
1979 The Chisholms (18 episodes)
1977 High Anxiety as Dr. Philip Wentworth
1977 The Love Boat (1 episode)
1977 CHiPs (1 episode)
1977 Eight Is Enough (112 episodes)
1976 The Shaggy D.A. as Raymond
1976 Freaky Friday as Harold Jennings
1976 Battle of the Network Stars (1 episode)
1976 The Tony Randall Show (1 episode)
1976 What's Happening!! (1 episode)
1976 Gus as Cal Wilson
1976 Treasure of Matecumbe as The Gambler
1975 Wonder Woman (1 episode)
1975 Ellery Queen (1 episode)
1975 When Things Were Rotten (13 episodes)
1975 S.W.A.T. (1 episode)
1975 The Strongest Man in the World as Harry
1975 Hot l Baltimore (1 episode)
1974 Kolchak: The Night Stalker (1 episode)
1974 Happy Days (3 episodes)
1973 Superdad as Ira Kushaw
1973 Westworld as Banker
1973 The Girl with Something Extra (1 episode)
1973 Adam's Rib (1 episode)
1973 Soylent Green as Usher #1
1973 Acts of Love and Other Comedies as Larry Grogman
1972 The Crooked Hearts as Edward
1972 Dirty Little Billy as Berle's Customer
1972 ABC Afterschool Special (1 episode)
1972 The Streets of San Francisco (3 episodes)
1972 The Brian Keith Show (1 episode)
1972 Banyon (1 episode)
1972 The Paul Lynde Show (2 episodes)
1972 The Rookies (2 episodes)
1972 Joe Kidd as Hotel Manager
1972 Beware! The Blob as Scoutmaster Adleman
1972 Emergency! (2 episodes)
1972 Sanford and Son (1 episode)
1972 Snowball Express as Mr. Carruthers
1971 The Partners (20 episodes) as Sgt. Nelson Higgenbottom
1971 The New Dick Van Dyke Show (72 episodes)
1971 McMillan & Wife (1 episode)
1971 Cannon (1 episode)
1971 Making It as Warren
1971 Zachariah as The Dude
1970 Arnie (1 episode)
1969 Medical Center (1 episode)
1968 Charly as Bert
1966 That Girl (1 episode)
1963 Violent Midnight as Lt. Palmer
1959 Rawhide (1 episode)
1958 Young Doctor Malone (322 episodes)
1950 The Colgate Comedy Hour (1 episode)

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page