Rumpole of the Bailey is a British television series created and written by the British writer and barrister John Mortimer. It stars Leo McKern as Horace Rumpole, an aging London barrister who defends any and all clients, and has been spun off into a series of short stories, novels, and radio programmes.

  1. John Mortimer


Series Cast

  1. Leo McKern

    Leo McKern

    Horace Rumpole

    42 Episodes

  2. Derek Benfield

    Derek Benfield

    42 Episodes

  3. Moray Watson

    Moray Watson

    42 Episodes

  4. Peter Bowles

    Peter Bowles

    42 Episodes

  5. Bill Fraser

    Bill Fraser

    42 Episodes

Full Cast & Crew

Last Season

Season 7

1992 | 6 Episodes

Season 7 of Rumpole of the Bailey premiered on October 29, 1992.

View All Seasons

Rumpole of the Bailey
Rumpole of the Bailey


Status Ended


  • See more TV shows from ITV...

Certification -

Type Scripted

Original Language English

Runtime 60m



No keywords have been added.

Content Score


Yes! Looking good!

Top Contributors

Popularity Trend

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page