• User


A Dance to the Music of Time is a four-part adaptation of Anthony Powell's 12-volume novel sequence that aired on Channel 4 in 1997. The series is a sharp, comic portrait of upper-class and bohemian England, spanning almost a century, from the early 1920s to modern times.

Series Cast

  1. James Fleet

    James Fleet


    4 Episodes

  2. Claire Skinner

    Claire Skinner


    4 Episodes

  3. James Purefoy

    James Purefoy

    Nicholas Jenkins

    4 Episodes

  4. James D'Arcy

    James D'Arcy

    Nicholas Jenkins as a student

    4 Episodes

  5. Jonathan Cake

    Jonathan Cake

    Peter Templer

    4 Episodes

Full Cast & Crew

Last Season


1997 | 4 Episodes

Season 1 of A Dance to the Music of Time premiered on October 9, 1997.

View All Seasons

A Dance to the Music of Time
A Dance to the Music of Time


Status Ended


  • See more TV shows from Channel 4...

Certification -

Type Miniseries

Original Language English

Runtime 60m



Content Score


Almost there...

Top Contributors

Popularity Trend

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page