Now Streaming on Max Amazon Channel

Now Streaming

Watch Now

What's your Vibe?

Login to use TMDB's new rating system.

  • Welcome to Vibes, TMDB's new rating system! For more information, visit the contribution bible.


A Different World is an American television sitcom which aired for six seasons on NBC. It is a spin-off series from The Cosby Show and originally centered on Denise Huxtable and the life of students at Hillman College, a fictional mixed but historically black college in the state of Virginia. After Bonet's departure in the first season, the remainder of the series primarily focused more on Southern belle Whitley Gilbert and mathematics whiz Dwayne Wayne. The series frequently depicted members of the major historically black fraternities and sororities.

While it was a spin-off from The Cosby Show, A Different World would typically address issues that were avoided by The Cosby Show writers. One episode that aired in 1990 was one of the first American network television episodes to address the HIV/AIDS epidemic.

  1. Bill Cosby


Series Cast

  1. Jasmine Guy as Whitley Marion Gilbert

    Jasmine Guy

    Whitley Marion Gilbert

    144 Episodes

  2. Kadeem Hardison as Dwayne Cleophus Wayne

    Kadeem Hardison

    Dwayne Cleophus Wayne

    144 Episodes

  3. Darryl M. Bell as Ronald Marlon Johnson and Ron Johnson

    Darryl M. Bell

    Ronald Marlon Johnson, Ron Johnson

    130 Episodes

  4. Lou Myers as Vernon Gaines

    Lou Myers

    Vernon Gaines

    125 Episodes

  5. Cree Summer as Winifred 'Freddie' Brooks

    Cree Summer

    Winifred 'Freddie' Brooks

    122 Episodes

  6. Charnele Brown as Kimberly Reese

    Charnele Brown

    Kimberly Reese

    122 Episodes

  7. Glynn Turman as Colonel Bradford Taylor

    Glynn Turman

    Colonel Bradford Taylor

    122 Episodes

  8. Dawnn Lewis as Jaleesa Vinson-Taylor

    Dawnn Lewis

    Jaleesa Vinson-Taylor

    119 Episodes

  9. Sinbad as Coach Walter Oakes


    Coach Walter Oakes

    75 Episodes

  10. View More

Full Cast & Crew

Last Season

Season 6

1992 • 25 Episodes

Season 6 of A Different World premiered on September 24, 1992.

Great X-Pectations

(6x20, July 9, 1993)

View All Seasons

A Different World
A Different World


Status Ended


  • See more TV shows from NBC...

Type Scripted

Original Language English


Content Score 


Almost there...

Looks like we're missing the following data in en-US or en-US...

  • Video

Top Contributors

Popularity Trend

Login to report an issue

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.

Can't find a movie or TV show? Login to create it.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page


Want to rate or add this item to a list?