Now Streaming on Amazon Prime Video

Now Streaming

Watch Now

The Andy Griffith Show (1960)

TV-G Comedy 25m


The Andy Griffith Show is an American sitcom first televised on CBS between October 3, 1960 and April 1, 1968. Andy Griffith portrays the widowed sheriff of the fictional small community of Mayberry, North Carolina. His life is complicated by an inept, but well-meaning deputy, Barney Fife, a spinster aunt and housekeeper, Aunt Bee, and a precocious young son, Opie. Local ne'er-do-wells, bumbling pals, and temperamental girlfriends further complicate his life. Andy Griffith stated in a Today Show interview, with respect to the time period of the show: "Well, though we never said it, and though it was shot in the '60s, it had a feeling of the '30s. It was when we were doing it, of a time gone by."

The series never placed lower than seventh in the Nielsen ratings and ended its final season at number one. It has been ranked by TV Guide as the 9th-best show in American television history. Though neither Griffith nor the show won awards during its eight-season run, series co-stars Knotts and Bavier accumulated a combined total of six Emmy Awards. The show, a semi-spin-off from an episode of The Danny Thomas Show titled "Danny Meets Andy Griffith", spawned its own spin-off series, Gomer Pyle, U.S.M.C., a sequel series, Mayberry R.F.D., and a reunion telemovie, Return to Mayberry. The show's enduring popularity has generated a good deal of show-related merchandise. Reruns currently air on TV Land, and the complete series is available on DVD. All eight seasons are also now available by streaming video services such as Netflix.

  1. Sheldon Leonard


  2. Danny Thomas


  3. Aaron Ruben


Series Cast

  1. Andy Griffith

    Andy Griffith

    Sheriff Andy Taylor

    249 Episodes

  2. Ron Howard

    Ron Howard

    Opie Taylor

    249 Episodes

  3. Frances Bavier

    Frances Bavier

    Aunt Bee Taylor

    249 Episodes

  4. Don Knotts

    Don Knotts

    Barney Fife

    159 Episodes

  5. George Lindsey

    George Lindsey

    Goober, Goober Pyle

    146 Episodes

  6. Jim Nabors

    Jim Nabors

    Gomer Pyle,

    55 Episodes

  7. Paul Hartman

    Emmett Clark,

    46 Episodes

  8. Hal Smith

    Hal Smith

    Otis Campbell

    30 Episodes

  9. Betty Lynn

    Betty Lynn

    Thelma Lou

    26 Episodes

  10. View More

Full Cast & Crew

Last Season

The Andy Griffith Show

Season 8

1967 | 30 Episodes

Season 8 of The Andy Griffith Show premiered on September 11, 1967.

View All Seasons

The Andy Griffith Show
The Andy Griffith Show

Content Score


Yes! Looking good!

Top Contributors

Popularity Trend

Login to report an issue

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.

Can't find a movie or TV show? Login to create it.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page

Want to rate or add this item to a list?