Login to write a review.

Written by SWITCH. on November 25, 2019

This is a crime thriller that’s been a long time in the making. Mystery fans rejoice: ‘Knives Out’ is an impeccable cinematic achievement, laced with sardonic wit, division and conflict, and of course a perplexing puzzle. This is easily one of the most fun films of 2019 - it’s both a brilliant piece of entertainment and beautifully crafted enigma. Sit back, relax, and try to crack the code. - Charlie David Page

Read Charlie's full article... https://www.maketheswitch.com.au/article/review-knives-out-a-whodunnit-worthy-of-agatha-christies-hercule-poirot

Written by msbreviews on December 2, 2019

If you enjoy reading my Spoiler-Free reviews, please follow my blog @ https://www.msbreviews.com

Knives Out has been shown in numerous festivals, and it received massive acclaim in literally every single one of them. Therefore, its hype grew more and more until its wide release date. Before the film, I can’t deny that I was indeed affected by the whole “a whodunnit like you haven’t seen in years.” I went into the theater with high expectations, not only due to the festival praise but due to its jaw-dropping cast. It’s uncommon to possess such a renowned ensemble and deliver a “bad” movie, e... read the rest.

Written by Gimly on December 28, 2019

I did not think that Last Jedi was a very good movie, but I have always been a fan of Rian Johnson. And honestly? Knives Out is a strong contender for his best work yet. I have never seen a whodunnit like this before. Seeing this in a theatre was the poppy-poppy-paper of movie-going experiences, because I so enjoyed that.

Final rating:★★★★ - Very strong appeal. A personal favourite.

Written by Matthew Brady on January 27, 2020

“This case is like a donut with a hole in the middle of a donut hole. Actually, it's a donut within a donut's hole.”

‘Knives Out’ subverted my expectations...in a good way. A smartly written whodunit movie that manages to be both humorous and classy. The kind of murder mystery that never fails to entertain. Pleasing both cinephiles and mainstream audiences. Perfectly balance, as all things should be. It basically pulls a Hitchcock on us.

Rian Johnson is a great director, but at times has silly ideas. On the other hand, when given the right material I think he’s a great director and wr... read the rest.

Written by ahmedaiman99 on February 19, 2020

"That certainly not what I was expecting."

  • Whodunit?
  • Rian Johnson.
  • Why?
  • To subvert the tropes of yet another sub-genre... properly!

As divisive as it was, I neither loved nor hated the love-it-or-hate-it The Last Jedi. Maybe because I'm not a huge fan of the much-beloved saga. But I can give you a quick opinion of what I thought about it anyway. The first half almost turned me off completely: tons of lame jokes and out-of-character moments that indicate that Johnson's biggest concern was to subvert expectations and nothing but. The second half of the film was way better. It pro... read the rest.

Written by JPV852 on March 15, 2020

Fun little murder-mystery starts off great, kind of loses a little steam in the middle, before rebounding nicely at the end. Fine performances all around, though especially Daniel Craig (reminded me why he was also great in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo even with a starkly different tone). Also makes me remember Rian Johnson is a fine filmmaker (loved Brick). 4.0/5

A review by Mitchell Bulfin

Written by Mitchell Bulfin on May 11, 2020

This film had quite the rewatch value, keeping a consistent, yet entertaining thrill ride. Rian Johnson's original tale is strikingly filled with a talented ensemble, old-school-mystery-thrills and a sharp envisioning. Knives Out keeps the audience on their toes and brings a surprising delight towards it’s conclusion.

A review by hOLYE

Written by hOLYE on June 24, 2020

Best way to watch is on big screen

Written by tylero on July 31, 2020

Caving to popular opinion and seeing this was a bad decision; Daniel Craig's accent is the only interesting aspect, and you can get that from the trailer.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.

Can't find a movie or TV show? Login to create it.

Global

s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page

Want to rate or add this item to a list?

Login