Tantoo Cardinal is an Aboriginal Canadian stage, film and television actress.

Tantoo Cardinal is an Aboriginal Canadian stage, film and television actress.

Personal Info

Known For Acting

Gender Female

Known Credits 57

Birthday 1950-07-20

Place of Birth Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada

Official Site -

Also Known As

  • Tantoo Martin
  • Tantoo Martin-Cardinal
  • Rose Marie Cardinal

Acting TV ShowsMovies

Stumptown (1 episode) as Sue Lynn Blackbird
Spirit Rider as Marilyn St. Claire
2018 Hold the Dark as Illanaq
2018 Falls Around Her as Mary Birchbark
2018 Through Black Spruce as Mary-Lou
2018 The Grizzlies as Janace
2017 The Great Northern Candy Drop as Narrator / Louisa
2017 Godless (7 episodes) as Iyovi
2017 Wind River as Alice Crowheart
2016 Westworld (1 episode) as Ehawee
2016 Bull (1 episode) as Chief Tsosie
2016 On the Farm as Ada Taylor
2015 Hope Bridge as Lana
2014 Down Here as Stella Mitchell
2013 Maïna as Tekahera
2012 Eden as The Nurse
2011 Shouting Secrets as June
2009 Changing Climates, Changing Times as Grace Lajoie
2008 Mothers&Daughters as Celine
2008 Dear Prudence
2008 Mom, Dad and Her as Heather
2008 Older Than America as Auntie Apple
2008 The Englishman's Boy (2 episodes) as Little Soldier's Wife
2008 The Guard (4 episodes)
2007 Luna: Spirit of the Whale as Gloria Maquinna
2006 Unnatural & Accidental as Aunt Shadie / Rita
2003 Dreamkeeper as Old Pawnee Woman
2002 Tom Stone (1 episode)
2002 Edge of Madness as Ruth
2000 The Lost Child as Aunt Mary
2000 The Hi-Line as Singing Bird
2000 Navigating the Heart as Mary
1999 Family Law (1 episode)
1998 Big Bear as Running Second
1998 Smoke Signals as Arlene Joseph
1998 Heartwood as Violet Boucher
1997 The Education of Little Tree as Nonna
1996 Grand Avenue as Nellie
1995 Tecumseh: The Last Warrior as Turtle Mother
1995 Nobody's Girls: Five Women of the West as Sarah Winnemucca
1994 Legends of the Fall as Pet
1994 Lakota Woman: Siege at Wounded Knee as Mary's Mother
1994 Sioux City as Dawn Rainfeather
1993 Where the Rivers Flow North as Bangor
1993 Silent Tongue as Silent Tongue
1993 Mustard Bath as Sister Amantha
1993 Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman (6 episodes)
1991 The Lightning Incident as Vivian
1991 Black Robe as Chomina's Wife
1990 Dances with Wolves as Black Shawl
1988 Candy Mountain
1987 Loyalties as Rosanne Ladouceur
1987 Gunsmoke: Return to Dodge as Little Doe
1983 Running Brave as Caroline
1981 Death Hunt as Indian Woman
1978 Marie Ann as Tantou, Indian princess
1951 Hallmark Hall of Fame (1 episode)

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page