What's your Vibe?

Login to use TMDB's new rating system.


During the war-torn feudal wars in Japan, the Awa clan faced certain extinction from a rival clan backed by demonic forces.

However, a careless promise by their lord leads to both salvation and disgrace when their family dog brings back the head of the enemy warlord and insists on marrying the lord's daughter. Their unnatural union bears fruit but when both are killed, the eight unborn pups are reincarnated as the eight Dog Warriors - The Hakkenden.

As they slowly find each other and come together as a group, these eight warriors, who represent the eight separate aspects of Bushido, engage in bloody battles with demonic entities and evil samurai in a final attempt to redeem their clan!

  1. Bakin Kyokutei


Series Cast

  1. Kiyonobu Harita

    Rikijirou (voice)

    13 Episodes

  2. Masaaki Hiramatsu

    Hitoyo (voice)

    13 Episodes

  3. Toshio Funazu

    Tota (voice)

    13 Episodes

  4. Akio Otsuka as Daikaku Inumura (voice)

    Akio Otsuka

    Daikaku Inumura (voice)

    13 Episodes

  5. Arisa Andô

    Masaka (voice)

    13 Episodes

  6. Aya Hisakawa as Hamaji (voice)

    Aya Hisakawa

    Hamaji (voice)

    13 Episodes

  7. Chafurin as Haichirou Kanamari (voice)


    Haichirou Kanamari (voice)

    13 Episodes

  8. Chieko Honda as Hamaji (voice)

    Chieko Honda

    Hamaji (voice)

    13 Episodes

  9. Chikao Ohtsuka as Ikkaku Akaiwa (voice)

    Chikao Ohtsuka

    Ikkaku Akaiwa (voice)

    13 Episodes

  10. View More

Full Cast & Crew

Last Season

Season 1

1990 • 13 Episodes

In the 15th century, the Anzai and Satomi clans are at war. In a hopeless situation of the house of Satomi, an unbelievable promise is made: the dog Yatsufusa is to receive the princess Fuse as his wife if he brings the head of Kagetsura Anzai. After the defeat of the Anzai clan, Fuse insists that the prince keep his word. However, before her eight offspring are born, the princess chooses death. Eight beads from Fuse's prayer chain will reveal her incarnations. Years later. Eight young warriors - they all have a skin mark in the shape of a peony. Each of them possesses one of the beads. The first four dog warriors are brought together by the fate of the magical sword Murasame. It is to be handed over to its rightful owner, the ruler of Kanto ...

The Cicada Spirit Cry

(1x6, March 25, 1991)

View All Seasons

Hakkenden: Legend of the Dog Warriors
Hakkenden: Legend of the Dog Warriors


Original Name THE八犬伝

Status Ended


  • -

Type Video

Original Language Japanese


Content Score 


Yes! Looking good!

Looks like we're missing the following data in en-US or en-US...

Top Contributors

Popularity Trend

Login to report an issue

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.

Can't find a movie or TV show? Login to create it.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page


Want to rate or add this item to a list?