The Politician's Wife (1995)

18 Drama 3h 5m


The Politician's Wife is a British television political drama written by Paula Milne, broadcast on Channel 4 in 1995 and starring Trevor Eve and Juliet Stevenson.

The story centres around high-flying politician Duncan Matlock, Families Minister for the UK Government, who becomes embroiled in tabloid scandal as it is discovered that he has been having an affair with a former escort turned parliamentary researcher. Duncan's wife Flora becomes the focus of media attention as her reactions to the revelations are played out. Initially she plays out the part of the loyal wife, but as an aide of her husband feeds her details about the affair and various other political scandals that could be made to happen. She begins to sabotage her husband's integrity and reputation through a campaign of leaks and misinformation to the press and British Conservative Party stalwarts. After a series of increasingly sensational and damaging stories in the press, her husband is forced to resign in humiliation. The last episode closes with the results of the by-election being announced on TV. Flora Matlock wins with the support of her party whilst her husband is exiled to a minor post in Belgium.

Series Cast

  1. Juliet Stevenson as Flora Matlock

    Juliet Stevenson

    Flora Matlock

    3 Episodes

  2. Trevor Eve as Duncan Matlock

    Trevor Eve

    Duncan Matlock

    3 Episodes

  3. Ian Bannen as Sir Donald Frazier

    Ian Bannen

    Sir Donald Frazier

    3 Episodes

  4. Anton Lesser as Mark Hollister

    Anton Lesser

    Mark Hollister

    3 Episodes

  5. Katie Donnison

    Joanna Matlock

    3 Episodes

  6. Minnie Driver as Jennifer Caird

    Minnie Driver

    Jennifer Caird

    3 Episodes

  7. Diana Fairfax as Rosalind Clegg

    Diana Fairfax

    Rosalind Clegg

    3 Episodes

  8. Stuart Piper

    Paul Matlock

    3 Episodes

  9. Veronica Clifford as Veronica Weston

    Veronica Clifford

    Veronica Weston

    3 Episodes

  10. View More

Full Cast & Crew

Last Season

Season 1

1995 | 3 Episodes

Season 1 of The Politician's Wife premiered on May 16, 1995.

View All Seasons

The Politician's Wife
The Politician's Wife


Status Ended


  • See more TV shows from Channel 4...

Type Scripted

Original Language English


Content Score


Almost there...

Top Contributors

Popularity Trend

Login to report an issue

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.

Can't find a movie or TV show? Login to create it.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page


Want to rate or add this item to a list?