We don't have a biography for Ian McElhinney.

Personal Info

Known For Acting

Gender Male

Known Credits 66

Birthday 1948-01-01

Place of Birth Belfast, Northern Ireland

Official Site -

Also Known As

  • Ίαν ΜακΕλχίνεϊ

Acting TV ShowsMovies

The King's Wake as Athairne
The Grasscutter as Brian Deeds
2019 Father Father
2018 Mrs Wilson (3 episodes) as Father Timothy
2018 Zoo as Mr. Shawcross
2018 Dave Allen at Peace as Priest
2018 Krypton (20 episodes) as Val-El
2018 Derry Girls (12 episodes) as Granda Joe
2017 Bad Day for the Cut as Eamon
2017 Kat & Alfie: Redwater (6 episodes) as Lance
2017 The Journey as Rory O'Suaird
2016 Rogue One: A Star Wars Story as General Dodonna
2016 Sacrifice as D.I. McKie
2016 The Truth Commissioner as James Fenton
2016 Rebellion (5 episodes) as Edward Butler
2015 A Patch of Fog
2013 The Fall (3 episodes) as Morgan Monroe
2013 Wodehouse In Exile as Major Cussen
2012 Ripper Street (1 episode) as Theodore Swift
2012 Bomb Squad Men: The Long Walk as Narrator
2011 Game of Thrones (25 episodes) as Barristan Selmy
2011 Brendan Smyth: Betrayal of Trust as Abbot Smith
2010 An Old Fashioned Christmas as Sean
2010 Leap Year as Priest
2010 Make it New John as John
2009 Triage as Ivan
2009 Scapegoat as H. A. McVeigh QC
2008 City of Ember as Builder
2008 Clay as Father O'Mahoney
2008 Fairy Tales (1 episode)
2007 Single-Handed (4 episodes) as Ex-Garda Sergeant Gerry Driscoll
2004 Omagh as Stanley McCombe
2003 Hornblower: Loyalty as Captain Hammond
2001 Mapmaker as Sergeant Devlin
2001 Hornblower: Retribution as Captain Hammond
1999 Queer as Folk (2 episodes) as Clive Jones
1998 Hornblower: The Fire Ships as Captain Hammond
1998 Cold Feet (2 episodes)
1998 Touch and Go as Clive Bevan
1997 The Boxer as Reggie Bell
1997 Wokenwell (6 episodes)
1996 Hamlet as Barnardo
1996 The Boy from Mercury as Brother Dowdall
1996 Michael Collins as Belfast Detective
1996 Safe And Sound (1 episode) as Higgins
1996 Small Faces
1995 Life After Life as Working out governor
1995 Hearts and Minds (1 episode) as Alex
1994 A Breed of Heroes as Father O'Browne
1992 You, Me & Marley as Reggie Devine
1992 The Playboys as Joe Cassidy
1990 Hidden Agenda as Jack Cunnigham
1990 Fools of Fortune as Stranger
1990 Shoot To Kill as ACC Trevor Forbes
1990 Who Bombed Birmingham? as Sinn Fein leader
1990 The Lilac Bus as Billy
1988 Reefer and the Model as Reefer
1987 A Prayer for the Dying as Lodger
1986 Lamb as Maguire
1986 Casualty (1 episode) as Robert Finch
1986 Shergar as Damien
1986 The End of the World Man as Architect
1984 Anne Devlin as Maj. Sirr
1984 A Woman Calling as Mr Burke
1983 Acceptable Levels as Andy
1982 Angel as The Groom

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page