We don't have a biography for James Wilby.

Personal Info

Known For Acting

Gender Male

Known Credits 56

Birthday 1958-02-20

Place of Birth Rangoon, Burma. [now YangĂ´n, Myanmar]

Official Site -

Also Known As

  • -

Acting TV ShowsMovies

2017 The Sense of an Ending as David Ford
2016 ChickLit as Geoffrey
2016 Churchill's Secret as Brendan Bracken
2016 The Nightmare Worlds of H.G. Wells (1 episode) as Pawkins
2014 Legends (4 episodes)
2013 The Great Train Robbery (2 episodes) as John Wheater
2012 Titanic (4 episodes) as Bruce Ismay
2009 Shadows In The Sun as Robert
2008 A Risk Worth Taking as Patrick Trenchard
2008 Lady Godiva as Earl of Mercia, Leofric
2007 Secret Diary of a Call Girl (1 episode)
2007 Clapham Junction as Julian Rowan
2007 It's Gradiva Who Is Calling You as John Locke
2007 The Last Days of the Raj as Lord Mountbatten
2005 Jericho (2 episodes)
2004 Agatha Christie's Marple (1 episode) as Stanley Kirkwood
2004 Island at War (6 episodes) as Sen. James Dorr
2004 De-Lovely as Edward Thomas
2003 Sparkling Cyanide as Stephen Farraday
2002 George Eliot: A Scandalous Life as Herbert Spencer
2002 Foyle's War (1 episode)
2002 Bertie and Elizabeth as King George VI, aka 'Bertie'
2001 Jump Tomorrow as Nathan
2001 Gosford Park as Freddie Nesbitt
2001 Murder in Mind (1 episode) as Daniel Morton / Sir Richard Morton
2001 Adrian Mole: The Cappuccino Years (1 episode) as Zippo Montefiore
1999 An Ideal Husband as Sir Robert Chiltern
1999 Tom's Midnight Garden as Uncle Alan Kitson
1999 The Dark Room as Dr Alan Protheroe
1999 Cotton Mary
1997 Trial & Retribution (1 episode)
1997 Regeneration as 2nd Lt. Siegfried Sassoon
1997 The Woman In White as Sir Percival Glyde
1996 Silent Witness (2 episodes)
1994 The Chess Game as Lord Staunton
1994 Crocodile Shoes (13 episodes)
1993 Lady Chatterley (4 episodes) as Sir Clifford Chatterley
1992 Immaculate Conception as Alistair
1992 Howards End as Charles Wilcox
1992 Adam Bede as Arthur Donnithorne
1991 The Siege of Venice
1989 Mother Love (4 episodes)
1989 Tales from the Crypt (1 episode)
1989 A Tale of Two Cities (2 episodes) as Sydney Carton
1989 Agatha Christie's Poirot (1 episode) as Andrew Restarick
1988 A Summer Story as Frank Ashton
1988 A Handful of Dust as Tony Last
1988 The Storyteller (1 episode)
1987 Maurice as Maurice Hall
1986 Casualty (3 episodes) as Archie Grayling
1985 Dutch Girls as Dundine
1985 Dreamchild as Baker
1984 The Bill (1 episode)
1984 Sherlock Holmes (1 episode) as Young Barclay
1982 Privileged as Jamie

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page