Oliver Robert Ford Davies (born 12 August 1939) is an English actor and writer.

Oliver Robert Ford Davies (born 12 August 1939) is an English actor and writer.

Personal Info

Known For Acting

Gender Male

Known Credits 66

Birthday 1939-08-12

Place of Birth Ealing - London - England - UK

Official Site -

Also Known As

  • Oliver Ford Davis
  • Oliver Robert Ford Davies

Acting TV ShowsMovies

2018 Christopher Robin as Old Man Winslow
2018 The Last Witness as Sir Alexander Cadogan / Anthony Eden / Owen O'Malley (voice)
2018 Gerry as Frank
2015 RSC Live: Henry IV Part 2 as Shallow
2014 37 Days (3 episodes) as Cunliffe
2014 Royal Shakespeare Company - Henry V as Chorus
2013 Shakespeare Lives: Richard II as Duke of York
2013 Royal Shakespeare Company - Richard II as Duke of York
2011 The Deep Blue Sea as Hester's Father
2011 Game of Thrones (1 episode) as Maester Cressen
2009 RSC Live: Hamlet as Polonius
2009 National Theatre Live: All's Well That Ends Well as King of France
2008 Margaret Thatcher: The Long Walk to Finchley as Sir Donald Kaberry
2007 The Relief of Belsen as Martin Lipscomb
2005 Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith as Sio Bibble
2005 Cherished as Lord Justice Judge
2004 Gladiatress
2003 Sparkling Cyanide as Col. Geoffrey Reece
2003 The Mother as Bruce
2002 Foyle's War (1 episode)
2002 Bertie and Elizabeth as Archbishop Lang
2002 Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones as Governor Sio Bibble
2002 Spooks (1 episode)
2002 Murder as Father Daniel
2002 Sunday as Lord Hailsham
2001 Revelation as Professor Casaubon
2001 Blow Dry as Doctor Hamilton
2000 Waking the Dead (2 episodes)
2000 The Adventures of Young Indiana Jones: My First Adventure as Ship's Captain
2000 The Murder of Roger Ackroyd as Dr. Sheppard
1999 David Copperfield (2 episodes) as Mr. Wickfield
1999 Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace as Governor Sio Bibble
1999 An Ideal Husband as Sir Hugo Danforth
1998 Titanic Town as George Whittington
1997 A Royal Scandal as Lord Liverpool
1997 A Dance to the Music of Time (4 episodes) as Le Bas
1997 The Uninvited (4 episodes)
1997 Mrs. Dalloway as Hugh Whitbread
1997 Mrs Brown as Dean of Windsor
1997 Midsomer Murders (1 episode)
1995 Sense and Sensibility as Doctor Harris
1995 Coogan's Run (1 episode)
1995 The Absence Of War
1995 Kavanagh QC (29 episodes)
1994 Wycliffe (1 episode)
1994 MacGyver: Lost Treasure of Atlantis as Prof. Carson
1992 Between the Lines (1 episode)
1992 Anglo Saxon Attitudes (3 episodes) as Professor Stokesay
1992 Heartbeat (1 episode)
1992 Maigret (2 episodes)
1992 The Cloning of Joanna May as Gerald
1990 The Police as James Acheson
1990 Paper Mask as Coroner
1990 Chancer (1 episode) as Vicar
1989 Scandal as Mr Woods, MI5
1989 Cause célèbre as J.D. Casswell
1988 Hannay (1 episode)
1987 Inspector Morse (1 episode)
1986 Defence of the Realm as Anthony Clegg
1986 Casualty (1 episode) as The Major
1986 A Very Peculiar Practice (1 episode) as Lecturer
1984 Mitch (1 episode)
1977 Philby, Burgess and Maclean as Pattterson
1974 Father Brown (1 episode)
1972 Crown Court (1 episode)
1972 Van der Valk (1 episode)

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page