William Joseph Devane (born September 5, 1937) is an American film, television and theater actor.

William Joseph Devane (born September 5, 1937) is an American film, television and theater actor.

Personal Info

Known For Acting

Gender Male

Known Credits 83

Birthday 1939-09-05

Place of Birth Albany, New York, USA

Official Site -

Also Known As

  • -

Acting TV ShowsMovies

2015 Jesse Stone: Lost in Paradise as Dr. Dix
2015 The Grinder (22 episodes) as Dean Sanderson Sr.
2014 Interstellar as NASA Board Member
2014 Bad Turn Worse as Big Red
2014 24: Live Another Day (12 episodes)
2014 50 to 1 as Leonard Doc Blach
2012 The Dark Knight Rises as President
2012 Jesse Stone: Benefit of the Doubt as Dr. Dix
2012 Leprechaun's Revenge as Pop O'Hara
2011 Good Morning, Killer as Everett Morgan Gray
2011 Flag of My Father as Jake
2011 Revenge (2 episodes) as Edward Grayson
2011 Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost as Dr. Dix
2010 The Kane Files: Life of Trial as Thompson
2010 Jesse Stone: No Remorse as Dr. Dix
2009 Jesse Stone: Thin Ice as Dr. Dix
2009 The Least Among You as Alan Beckett
2008 Stargate: Continuum as President Henry Hayes
2007 Jesse Stone: Sea Change as Dr. Dix
2006 Payback: Straight Up as Fred Carter
2006 Psych (1 episode) as Peters
2006 Jesse Stone: Death in Paradise as Dr. Dix
2006 Crumbs (13 episodes)
2003 NCIS (1 episode) as Nicolas Mason
2003 Monte Walsh as Cal Brennan
2002 A Christmas Visitor as George Boyajian
2002 Threat of Exposure as Col. Weldon
2002 The Badge as The Judge
2001 24 (15 episodes) as James Hiller (64 episodes) as President James Heller
2001 Miracle on the Mountain: The Kincaid Family Story as Tom Kincaid
2001 Plotting 'Family Plot' as Himself
2000 The Michael Richards Show (10 episodes)
2000 Hollow Man as Dr. Howard Kramer
2000 Space Cowboys as Eugene Davis
2000 The Man Who Used to Be Me as Sam (jeune)
2000 Poor White Trash as Ron Lake
1999 The West Wing (1 episode)
1999 Payback as Carter
1999 Turks (13 episodes) as Sergeant Joseph Turk
1997 Doomsday Rock as Dr. Karl Sorenson
1997 Stargate SG-1 (1 episode) as President Hayes
1997 King of the Hill (1 episode)
1997 Exception to the Rule as Lawrence Kellerman
1996 Forgotten Sins as Dr. Richard Ofshe
1995 Falling from the Sky: Flight 174 as Capt. Bob Pearson
1995 Night Watch as Nick Caldwell
1995 The Monroes (9 episodes)
1994 Lady in Waiting as Lt. Barrett
1994 For the Love of Nancy as Tom
1993 Phenom (22 episodes) as Lou Della Rosa
1993 The X-Files (1 episode)
1993 Prophet of Evil: The Ervil LeBaron Story as Daniel 'Dan' Fields
1992 Obsessed as Ed Bledsoe
1992 Ancient Secrets of the Bible as Host & Narrator
1991 Nightmare in Columbia County as Sheriff Jim Metts
1991 A Woman Named Jackie (3 episodes) as Black Jack Bouvier
1990 Vital Signs as Dr. Chatham
1990 Chips, the War Dog as Col. Charnley
1989 The Preppie Murder as Jack Litman
1987 Timestalkers as Scott McKenzie
1983 Testament as Tom Wetherly
1983 Hadley's Rebellion as Coach Ball
1981 Red Flag: The Ultimate Game
1979 Knots Landing (348 episodes)
1979 Yanks as John
1979 The Dark as Roy Warner / Steve Dupree
1979 From Here to Eternity (3 episodes) as Sergeant Milt Warden
1978 Black Beauty (5 episodes) as John Manly
1977 Rolling Thunder as Major Charles Rane
1977 The Bad News Bears in Breaking Training as Mike Leak
1977 Red Alert as Frank Brolen
1976 Marathon Man as Janeway
1976 Family Plot as Arthur Adamson
1975 Fear on Trial as John Henry Faulk
1975 Report to the Commissioner as Asst. D.A. Jackson
1974 The Missiles of October as President John F. Kennedy
1973 The Bait as Earl Stokey
1972 The Irish Whiskey Rebellion as LT. Ashley
1971 My Old Man's Place as Jimmy Pilgrim
1971 McCabe & Mrs. Miller as The Lawyer
1971 Lady Liberty as Jock Fenner
1967 In the Country
1955 Gunsmoke (1 episode)

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page