Thomas Geoffrey "Tom" Wilkinson, OBE is an English actor. He has twice been nominated for an Academy Award for his roles in In The Bedroom and Michael Clayton. In 2009, he won The Golden Globe and Primetime Emmy Award for best Supporting Actor in a Miniseries or Movie for John Adams.

Thomas Geoffrey "Tom" Wilkinson, OBE is an English actor. He has twice been nominated for an Academy Award for his roles in In The Bedroom and Michael Clayton. In 2009, he won The Golden Globe and Primetime Emmy Award for best Supporting Actor in a Miniseries or Movie for John Adams.

Personal Info

Known For Acting

Gender Male

Known Credits 113

Birthday 1948-02-05

Place of Birth Leeds, West Yorkshire, England, UK

Official Site -

Also Known As

  • 汤姆·威尔金森

Acting TV ShowsMovies

2018 Watership Down(4 episodes) as Threarah (voice)
2018 Dead in a Week (Or Your Money Back) as Leslie
2018 The Catcher Was a Spy as Paul Scherrer
2018 The Happy Prince as Fr Dunne
2018 The Titan as Prof. Martin Collingwood
2018 Burden as Tom Griffin
2016 This Beautiful Fantastic as Alfie Stevenson
2016 Denial as Richard Rampton
2016 Snowden as Ewen MacAskill
2016 The Choice as Dr. Shep
2015 Jenny's Wedding as Eddie
2015 Little Boy as Fr. Oliver
2015 Bone in the Throat as Charlie
2015 Unfinished Business as Timothy McWinters
2014 Selma as President Lyndon B. Johnson
2014 Good People as DI John Halden
2014 Felony as Detective Carl Summer
2014 The Grand Budapest Hotel as Old Author
2013 Belle as Lord Mansfield
2013 The Lone Ranger as Latham Cole
2012 The Samaritan as Xavier
2012 Space Junk 3D as Narrator
2011 The Gruffalo's Child as The Fox (voice)
2011 Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol as IMF Secretary
2011 The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel as Graham Dashwood
2011 The Debt as Stefan Gold
2011 The Kennedys(9 episodes) as Joe Kennedy Sr.
2011 The Green Hornet as James Reid
2010 Burke & Hare as Dr. Knox
2010 Jackboots on Whitehall as Goebbels (voice)
2010 The Conspirator as Reverdy Johnson
2010 The Ghost Writer as Paul Emmett
2009 The Gruffalo as Fox (voice)
2009 44 Inch Chest as Archie
2009 Duplicity as Howard Tully
2008 Valkyrie as Friedrich Fromm
2008 A Number as Salter
2008 RockNRolla as Lenny Cole
2008 Recount as James Baker
2008 John Adams(9 episodes) as Benjamin Franklin
2007 Michael Clayton as Arthur Edens
2007 Cassandra's Dream as Howard
2007 Dedication as Rudy Holt
2006 The Last Kiss as Stephen
2006 The Night of the White Pants as Max Hagan
2005 Ripley Under Ground as John Webster
2005 Separate Lies as James Manning
2005 The Exorcism of Emily Rose as Father Moore
2005 Batman Begins as Carmine Falcone
2005 Piccadilly Jim as Bingley Crocker
2004 A Good Woman as Tuppy
2004 Stage Beauty as Betterton
2004 Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind as Dr. Howard Mierzwiak
2004 If Only as Taxi Driver
2003 Girl with a Pearl Earring as Pieter Van Ruijven
2003 Normal as Roy 'Ruth' Applewood
2002 An Angel for May as Sam Wheeler
2002 Before You Go as Frank
2002 The Importance of Being Earnest as Dr. Chasuble
2002 The Gathering Storm as Sir Robert Vansittart
2001 In the Bedroom as Matt Fowler
2001 Black Knight as Sir Knolte of Marlborough
2001 Another Life as Mr. Carlton
2000 Chain of Fools as Bollingsworth
2000 Essex Boys as John Dyke
2000 The Patriot as Gen. Cornwallis
1999 David Copperfield(2 episodes) as Narrator
1999 Ride with the Devil as Orton Brown
1999 Molokai: The Story of Father Damien as Brother Dutton
1998 Shakespeare in Love as Hugh Fennyman
1998 Rush Hour as Thomas Griffin
1998 The Governess as Mr. Charles Cavendish
1997 Oscar and Lucinda as Hugh Stratton
1997 Cold Enough for Snow as Hugh Lloyd
1997 Wilde as Marquess of Queensberry
1997 The Full Monty as Gerald
1997 Smilla's Sense of Snow as Prof. Loyen
1996 The Ghost and the Darkness as Robert Beaumont
1996 Crossing the Floor as David Hanratty
1996 Eskimo Day as Hugh
1995 Sense and Sensibility as Mr. Dashwood
1995 A Very Open Prison as David Hanratty
1995 A Business Affair as Bob
1994 Martin Chuzzlewit(6 episodes) as Seth Pecksniff
1994 Measure for Measure as Duke Vincentio
1994 Royal Deceit as Hardvendel
1994 Priest as Father Matthew Thomas
1993 In the Name of the Father as Appeal Prosecutor
1993 Resnick: Rough Treatment as DI Charlie Resnick
1993 The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries(9 episodes) as Gerald Lacklander
1992 Resnick: Lonely Hearts as DI Charlie Resnick
1991 Prime Suspect(2 episodes) as Peter Rawlins
1990 Paper Mask as Dr. Thorn
1990 Counterstrike(1 episode)
1990 TECX(13 episodes) as Hugo Gillon
1989 Stay Lucky(1 episode)
1989 Happy Families(5 episodes) as Jack
1989 First and Last
1988 The Attic: The Hiding of Anne Frank as Silberbauer
1988 The Woman He Loved as Ernest Simpson
1987 The Ruth Rendell Mysteries(3 episodes)
1987 Inspector Morse(1 episode)
1986 Lovejoy(1 episode)
1986 Sylvia as Keith
1985 Happy Families(1 episode)
1985 Wetherby as Roger Braithwaite
1985 Parker as Tom
1985 Miss Marple: A Pocketful of Rye(2 episodes) as Detective Inspector Neele
1984 Squaring the Circle as Rulewski
1983 Spyship(6 episodes) as Martin Taylor
1979 Crime and Punishment(3 episodes) as Cadet
1976 The Shadow-Line as Ransome
1953 The Academy Awards(1 episode)

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page