We don't have a biography for Elizabeth Spriggs.

Personal Info

Known For Acting

Gender Female

Known Credits 68

Birthday 1929-09-18

Day of Death 2008-07-02

Place of Birth Buxton, Derbyshire, England, UK

Official Site -

Also Known As

  • Elizabeth Jean Williams
  • Elisabeth Spriggs

Acting TV ShowsMovies

The Sleeper as Cath
2009 Is Anybody There? as Prudence
2007 James Ellis: An Actor's Life as Herself
2005 Jericho (2 episodes)
2005 Love Soup (1 episode)
2002 Nice Guy Eddie (6 episodes) as Vera McMullen
2002 Shackleton (2 episodes) as Janet Stancombe Wills
2001 Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone as Fat Lady
2000 For My Baby
2000 Randall & Hopkirk (Deceased) (1 episode)
1999 A Christmas Carol as Mrs Riggs
1999 Wives and Daughters (6 episodes) as Mrs. Goodenough
1999 The Adventures of Young Indiana Jones: Adventures in the Secret Service as Schultz
1999 Alice in Wonderland as Duchess
1998 The Barber of Siberia as Perepiolkina
1997 Midsomer Murders (1 episode) as Iris Rainbird
1997 Paradise Road as Mrs. Roberts
1995 Sense and Sensibility as Mrs. Jennings
1994 Martin Chuzzlewit (6 episodes) as Mrs. Gamp
1994 Takin' Over the Asylum (6 episodes) as Grandma
1994 Middlemarch (6 episodes) as Mrs. Cadwallader
1994 A Pinch of Snuff as Annabelle Andover
1994 Class Act (1 episode) as Harriet Mainwaring
1993 The Advocate as Madame Langlois
1993 Sherlock Holmes: The Last Vampyre as Eileen Mason
1992 Anglo Saxon Attitudes (3 episodes) as Inge Middleton
1992 Heartbeat (2 episodes)
1991 Impromptu as Baroness Laginsky
1990 Jeeves and Wooster (2 episodes)
1990 Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit (3 episodes) as May
1989 Tales from the Crypt (1 episode)
1989 Young Charlie Chaplin (1 episode)
1988 A Kind Of Living (26 episodes)
1987 Simon and the Witch (25 episodes) as The Witch
1987 Doctor Who: Paradise Towers as Tabby
1987 The Ruth Rendell Mysteries (1 episode)
1987 Watching (54 episodes)
1987 The Devil's Disciple as Mrs. Dudgeon
1986 Casualty (1 episode) as Barbara Thomas
1986 Lovejoy (1 episode)
1985 The Thirteenth Day of Christmas as Evelyn Smith
1985 Parker as Mrs. Epps
1983 Those Glory Glory Days as School Mistress
1982 The Merry Wives of Windsor as Mistress Quickly
1982 Spider's Web as Mildred Peake
1982 Our Winnie as Cora
1982 Intensive Care as Alice Duckworth
1982 An Unsuitable Job for a Woman as Miss Markland
1982 Shine on Harvey Moon (35 episodes)
1981 Bergerac (1 episode)
1981 Lady Chatterley's Lover as Lady Eva
1980 Richard's Things as Mrs. Sells
1980 Fox (13 episodes)
1979 Tales of the Unexpected (2 episodes)
1979 Julius Caesar as Calphurnia
1979 Afternoon Off as Miss Beckinsale
1978 BBC Television Shakespeare (2 episodes)
1976 Victorian Scandals (1 episode)
1975 Prometheus: The Life of Balzac (6 episodes)
1974 Leeds United
1973 Black and Blue (1 episode)
1970 Play for Today (3 episodes)
1969 Three Into Two Won't Go as Marcia
1968 Work is a 4-Letter Word as Mrs Murray
1968 All's Well That Ends Well as Widow
1965 Play of the Month (1 episode)
1963 Doctor Who (3 episodes)

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page