The Awakening

Find out where to watch on


The Awakening is a British horror thriller film directed by Nick Murphy, starring Rebecca Hall, Dominic West, and Imelda Staunton. 1921 England is overwhelmed by the loss and grief of World War I. Hoax exposer Florence Cathcart (Hall) visits a boarding school to explain sightings of a child ghost.

Movie Data


Status Released

Original Language English

Runtime 1h 47m

Budget $4,798,235.00

Revenue $209,696.00

Homepage -

Release Information

  • August 17, 2011
    R, Theatrical



Cast 16

  1. Rebecca Hall

    Rebecca Hall
    Florence Cathcart

  2. Dominic West

    Dominic West
    Robert Mallory

  3. Imelda Staunton

    Imelda Staunton
    Maud Hill

  4. Isaac Hempstead Wright
  5. Lucy Cohu

    Lucy Cohu
    Constance Strickland

  6. John Shrapnel

    John Shrapnel
    Reverend Hugh Purslow

  7. Diana Kent

    Diana Kent
    Harriet Cathcart

  8. Richard Durden

    Richard Durden
    Alexander Cathcart

  9. Alfie Field

    Alfie Field
    Victor Parry

  10. Tilly Vosburgh

    Tilly Vosburgh
    Vera Flood

  11. Anastasia Hille

    Anastasia Hille
    Katherine Vandermeer

  12. Andrew Havill

    Andrew Havill
    George Vandermeer

  13. Joseph Mawle

    Joseph Mawle
    Edward Judd

  14. Neil Broome

    Neil Broome
    School Master

  15. Shaun Dooley

    Shaun Dooley
    Malcolm McNair

  16. KK

    Kasity Koehn
    Sonya Wright

Crew 31


  1. JH

    Jon Henson
    Production Design

  2. RW

    Robert Wischhusen-Hayes
    Set Decoration

  3. FG

    Fiona Gavin
    Art Direction

  4. NM

    Nicki McCallum
    Supervising Art Director


  1. AB

    Alex Bailey
    Still Photographer

  2. PE

    Paul Edwards
    Steadicam Operator

  3. PR

    Peter Robertson
    Steadicam Operator

  4. MS

    Mike Scott
    Steadicam Operator

  5. DM

    Dave McKay
    Helicopter Camera

  6. EG

    Eduard Grau
    Director of Photography

Costume & Make-Up

  1. CH

    Caroline Harris
    Costume Design


  1. JE

    Jim Elliott
    Property Master

  2. NC

    Neal Champion
    Special Effects

  3. AC

    Abbi Collins
    Stunt Coordinator

  4. IJ

    Ian Johnson
    Unit Publicist


  1. NM

    Nick Murphy

  2. LE

    Lucy Enfield
    Script Supervisor


  1. VB
  2. JC

    James Clarke
    Digital Intermediate


  1. SB

    Shaheen Baig

  2. EP

    Emma Pike
    Production Manager

  3. HL

    Helene Lenszner
    Location Manager

  4. CT

    Cindy Thomson
    Location Manager

  5. SN

    Suzanne Noble


  1. DP

    Daniel Pemberton
    Original Music Composer

  2. SH
  3. RW
  4. JH

    James Harrison
    Sound Designer

Visual Effects

  1. SF

    Sean Farrow
    Visual Effects Supervisor


  1. NM

    Nick Murphy

  2. SV

    Stephen Volk

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.