King Arthur, accompanied by his squire, recruits his Knights of the Round Table, including Sir Bedevere the Wise, Sir Lancelot the Brave, Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot and Sir Galahad the Pure. On the way, Arthur battles the Black Knight who, despite having had all his limbs chopped off, insists he can still fight. They reach Camelot, but Arthur decides not to enter, as "it is a silly place".

Movie Data


Status Released

Original Language English

Runtime 1h 31m

Budget $400,000.00

Revenue $5,028,948.00

Homepage http://www.sonypictures.com/cthe/montypython/

Release Information

  • March 13, 1975
    PG, Theatrical



Cast 16

  1. Graham Chapman

    Graham Chapman
    King Arthur / Voice of God / Middle Head / Hiccoughing Guard

  2. John Cleese

    John Cleese
    Second Swallow-Savvy Guard / The Black Knight / Peasant 3 / Sir Lancelot the Brave / Taunting French Guard / Tim the Enchanter

  3. Eric Idle

    Eric Idle
    Dead Collector / Peasant 1 / Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-as-Sir Launcelot / First Swamp Castle Guard / Concorde / Roger the Shrubber / Brother Maynard

  4. Michael Palin

    Michael Palin
    First Swallow-Savvy Guard / Dennis / Peasant 2 / Right Head / Sir Galahad the Pure / Narrator / King of Swamp Castle / Brother Maynard's Brother / Leader of The Knights Who Say NI!

  5. Terry Gilliam

    Terry Gilliam
    Patsy / Green Knight / Old Man from Scene 24 (Bridgekeeper) / Sir Bors / Animator / Gorrilla Hand

  6. Terry Jones

    Terry Jones
    Dennis's Mother / Sir Bedevere / Left Head / Prince Herbert / Cartoon Scribe (voice)

  7. Connie Booth

    Connie Booth
    The Witch

  8. Carol Cleveland

    Carol Cleveland
    Zoot / Dingo

  9. Neil Innes

    Neil Innes
    First Monk / Singing Minstrel / Page Crushed by the Rabbit / Peasant #4

  10. Bee Duffell

    Bee Duffell
    Old Crone

  11. JY

    John Young
    Dead Body / Historian Frank

  12. RD

    Rita Davies
    Historian's Wife

  13. AS

    Avril Stewart
    Dr. Piglet

  14. SK

    Sally Kinghorn
    Dr. Winston

  15. MZ

    Mark Zycon

  16. JD

    Julian Doyle
    Police Sergeant

Crew 16


  1. RF

    Roy Forge Smith
    Production Design


  1. TB

    Terry Bedford
    Director of Photography

Costume & Make-Up

  1. HP

    Hazel Pethig
    Costume Design


  1. Terry Gilliam

    Terry Gilliam

  2. Terry Jones

    Terry Jones


  1. JH

    John Hackney


  1. MF

    Mark Forstater

  2. JG

    John Goldstone
    Executive Producer

  3. MW

    Michael White

  4. JD

    Julian Doyle
    Production Manager


  1. Graham Chapman
  2. John Cleese

    John Cleese

  3. Eric Idle

    Eric Idle

  4. Terry Gilliam
  5. Terry Jones

    Terry Jones

  6. Michael Palin

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.