Page Eight is lovingly turned, with elegant writing, a flawless cast and a heartfelt message from writer/director David Hare about the danger zone where spies and politicians meet. The tension builds gently as we follow the fortunes of Johnny Worricker, a jazz-loving charmer who works high up at MI5 as an intelligence analyst. It’s a part made for Bill Nighy and he purrs out bon mots with a weary panache that women 20 years younger find irresistible. One such is his neighbour, Nancy Pierpan (Rachel Weisz), in a Battersea mansion block. The question for Johnny is whether her interest in him is genuine or hides something darker. As his boss (Michael Gambon) puts it: “Distrust is a terrible habit.” Questions of trust, honour and friendship rumble through the play. The characters exchange oblique repartee as a plot about a damning dossier unwinds. It’s not to be missed.

Movie Data


Status Released

Original Language English

Runtime 1h 39m

Budget -

Revenue -

Homepage -

Release Information

  • November 6, 2011
    NR, Theatrical



Cast 16

  1. Ralph Fiennes

    Ralph Fiennes
    Alec Beasley

  2. Rachel Weisz

    Rachel Weisz
    Nancy Pierpan

  3. Bill Nighy

    Bill Nighy
    Johnny Worricker

  4. Michael Gambon

    Michael Gambon
    Benedict Baron

  5. Felicity Jones

    Felicity Jones
    Julianne Worricker

  6. Tom Hughes

    Tom Hughes
    Ralph Wilson

  7. Judy Davis

    Judy Davis
    Jill Tankard

  8. RT

    Rakhee Thakrar
    Muna Hammami

  9. Saskia Reeves

    Saskia Reeves
    Anthea Catcheside

  10. Ewen Bremner

    Ewen Bremner
    Rollo Maverley

  11. Marthe Keller

    Marthe Keller
    Leona Chew

  12. Richard Lintern

    Richard Lintern
    Max Vallance

  13. Holly Aird

    Holly Aird
    Anna Hervé

  14. Alice Krige

    Alice Krige
    Emma Baron

  15. KB

    Kate Burdette
    Allegra Betts

  16. Aisling Loftus

    Aisling Loftus
    Melissa Legge

Crew 16


  1. CC

    Cristina Casali
    Production Design


  1. MR

    Martin Ruhe
    Director of Photography


  1. DH

    David Hare


  1. JG

    Jinx Godfrey


  1. DB

    David Barron

  2. David Heyman

    David Heyman

  3. FW

    Fiona Weir

  4. CL

    Christine Langan
    Executive Producer

  5. GN

    Gareth Neame
    Executive Producer

  6. Bill Nighy

    Bill Nighy
    Executive Producer

  7. Scott Rudin

    Scott Rudin
    Executive Producer

  8. RA

    Rosie Alison

  9. CD

    Celia Duval

  10. RE

    Rebecca Eaton
    Executive Producer


  1. PE

    Paul Englishby
    Original Music Composer


  1. DH

    David Hare

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.