Soren, a young barn owl, is kidnapped by owls of St. Aggie's, ostensibly an orphanage, where owlets are brainwashed into becoming soldiers. He and his new friends escape to the island of Ga'Hoole, to assist its noble, wise owls who fight the army being created by the wicked rulers of St. Aggie's. The film is based on the first three books in the series.

Movie Data


Status Released

Original Language English

Runtime 1h 37m

Budget $80,000,000.00

Revenue $140,073,390.00

Homepage http://legendoftheguardians.warnerbros.com/

Release Information

  • September 24, 2010
    PG, Theatrical



Cast 23

  1. Emily Barclay

    Emily Barclay
    Gylfie (voice)

  2. Abbie Cornish

    Abbie Cornish
    Otulissa (voice)

  3. Essie Davis

    Essie Davis
    Marella (voice)

  4. Joel Edgerton

    Joel Edgerton
    Metalbeak (voice)

  5. Deborra-Lee Furness

    Deborra-Lee Furness
    Barran (voice)

  6. Ryan Kwanten

    Ryan Kwanten
    Kludd (voice)

  7. Anthony LaPaglia

    Anthony LaPaglia
    Twilight (voice)

  8. Helen Mirren

    Helen Mirren
    Nyra (voice)

  9. Sam Neill

    Sam Neill
    Allomere (voice)

  10. Richard Roxburgh

    Richard Roxburgh
    Boron (voice)

  11. AD

    Adrienne DeFaria
    Eglantine (voice)

  12. Sacha Horler

    Sacha Horler
    Strix Struma (voice)

  13. Bill Hunter

    Bill Hunter
    Bubo (voice)

  14. Miriam Margolyes

    Miriam Margolyes
    Mrs. Plithiver (voice)

  15. Barry Otto

    Barry Otto
    Echidna (voice)

  16. Geoffrey Rush

    Geoffrey Rush
    Ezylryb (voice)

  17. Angus Sampson

    Angus Sampson
    Jutt (voice)

  18. Jim Sturgess

    Jim Sturgess
    Soren (voice)

  19. Hugo Weaving

    Hugo Weaving
    Noctus / Grimble (voice)

  20. David Wenham

    David Wenham
    Digger (voice)

  21. Leigh Whannell

    Leigh Whannell
    Jatt (voice)

  22. GY

    Gareth Young
    Pete (voice)

  23. DG

    Diego Garzon
    Production Assitant

Crew 13


  1. SW

    Simon Whiteley
    Production Design

  2. GF

    Grant Freckelton
    Art Direction


  1. Zack Snyder

    Zack Snyder


  1. David Burrows


  1. JH

    Justin Hammond
    Lighting Artist


  1. DD

    Donald De Line
    Executive Producer

  2. NB

    Nikki Barrett

  3. ZN


  1. DH

    David Hirschfelder
    Original Music Composer

Visual Effects

  1. MC

    Mike Cottee

  2. IB

    Ian Blum


  1. JO

    John Orloff

  2. ES

    Emil Stern

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.