An urban hotel in London is a gathering and flash point for legal and illegal immigrants attempting to cobble together their lives in a new country. The immigrants include Senay, a Turkish woman, and a Nigerian doctor named Okwe who is working as a night porter at the hotel. The pair discover the hotel is a front for all sorts of clandestine activities. Their only wish is to avoid possible deportation. Okwe becomes more entangled in the goings on when he is called to fix a toilet in one of the rooms. He discovers the plumbing has been clogged by a human heart.

Movie Data


Status Released

Original Language English

Runtime 1h 37m

Budget -

Revenue -

Homepage -

Release Information

  • December 20, 2002
    R, Theatrical



Cast 13

  1. Chiwetel Ejiofor
  2. Audrey Tautou
  3. Sergi López

    Sergi López
    Sneaky / Juan

  4. Benedict Wong
  5. Sophie Okonedo

    Sophie Okonedo

  6. Zlatko Burić
  7. Damon Younger
  8. KH

    Kenan Hudaverdi
    Cafe Owner

  9. PB
  10. DD

    Darrell D'Silva
    Immigration Officer

  11. Sotigui Kouyaté
  12. AG

    Abi Gouhad
    Shinti's Son

  13. Adrian Scarborough

Crew 32


  1. HL

    Hugo Luczyc-Wyhowski
    Production Design

  2. RH

    Rebecca Holmes
    Art Direction


  1. CM

    Chris Menges
    Director of Photography

  2. LS

    Laurie Sparham
    Still Photographer

  3. AR

    Alastair Rae
    Steadicam Operator

  4. AT

    Alf Tramontin
    Steadicam Operator

  5. CM

    Chris Menges
    Camera Operator

  6. OM

    Oona Menges
    First Assistant Camera

Costume & Make-Up

  1. OD

    Odile Dicks-Mireaux
    Costume Design

  2. KM

    Kay Manasseh
    Assistant Costume Designer


  1. Stephen Frears

    Stephen Frears

  2. PE

    Penny Eyles
    Script Supervisor


  1. MA

    Mick Audsley


  1. RJ

    Robert Jones

  2. LD

    Leo Davis

  3. TS

    Tracey Seaward

  4. JG

    Julie Goldstein
    Executive Producer

  5. TM

    Teresa Moneo
    Executive Producer

  6. AR

    Allon Reich
    Executive Producer

  7. TS

    Tracey Scoffield
    Executive Producer

  8. PS

    Paul Smith
    Executive Producer

  9. DM

    David M. Thompson
    Executive Producer

  10. MM

    Margo Myers
    Line Producer

  11. HN

    Hermione Ninnim
    Production Coordinator


  1. NL

    Nathan Larson
    Original Music Composer

  2. MP

    Mike Prestwood Smith
    Sound Re-Recording Mixer

  3. AR

    Adrian Rhodes
    Sound Re-Recording Mixer

  4. MA

    Mark Auguste
    Supervising Sound Editor

  5. PJ

    Peter Joly
    Supervising Sound Editor

  6. KE

    Karen Elliott
    Music Supervisor

  7. MH

    Michael Higham
    Music Editor


  1. Steven Knight

    Steven Knight

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.