FBI trainee, Clarice Starling ventures into a maximum-security asylum to pick the diseased brain of Hannibal Lecter, a psychiatrist turned homicidal cannibal. Starling needs clues to help her capture a serial killer. but her Faustian relationship with Lecter soon leads to his escape, and now two deranged killers are on the loose.

Movie Data


Status Released

Original Language English

Runtime 1h 58m

Budget $19,000,000.00

Revenue $272,742,922.00

Homepage -

Release Information

  • January 30, 1991
  • February 1, 1991
    Theatrical (limited)
  • February 14, 1991
    R, Theatrical



Cast 59

  1. Jodie Foster

    Jodie Foster
    Clarice Starling

  2. Anthony Hopkins

    Anthony Hopkins
    Hannibal Lecter

  3. Scott Glenn

    Scott Glenn
    Jack Crawford

  4. Ted Levine

    Ted Levine
    Jame 'Buffalo Bill' Gumb

  5. Anthony Heald

    Anthony Heald
    Dr. Frederick Chilton

  6. Brooke Smith

    Brooke Smith
    Catherine Martin

  7. Diane Baker

    Diane Baker
    Senator Ruth Martin

  8. Kasi Lemmons

    Kasi Lemmons
    Ardelia Mapp

  9. Frankie Faison

    Frankie Faison
    Barney Matthews

  10. Tracey Walter
  11. Charles Napier

    Charles Napier
    Lt. Boyle

  12. DD

    Danny Darst
    Sgt. Tate

  13. Alex Coleman

    Alex Coleman
    Sgt. Pembry

  14. Dan Butler

    Dan Butler

  15. Paul Lazar

    Paul Lazar

  16. Ron Vawter

    Ron Vawter
    Paul Krendler

  17. Roger Corman

    Roger Corman
    FBI Director Hayden Burke

  18. LA

    Lawrence A. Bonney
    FBI Instructor

  19. LT

    Lawrence T. Wrentz
    Agent Burroughs

  20. DB

    Don Brockett
    Friendly Psychopath

  21. FS

    Frank Seals Jr.
    Brooding Psychopath

  22. Stuart Rudin
  23. MS

    Masha Skorobogatov
    Young Clarice

  24. JL

    Jeffrie Lane
    Clarice's Father

  25. LL

    Leib Lensky
    Mr. Lang

  26. G'

    George 'Red' Schwartz
    Mr. Lang's Driver

  27. JR

    Jim Roche
    TV Evangelist

  28. JB

    James B. Howard
    Boxing Instructor

  29. BM

    Bill Miller
    Mr. Brigham

  30. CA

    Chuck Aber
    Agent Terry

  31. GB
  32. PM

    Pat McNamara
    Sheriff Perkins

  33. Kenneth Utt

    Kenneth Utt
    Dr. Akin

  34. D

    "Precious" (as "Darla")

  35. Adelle Lutz

    Adelle Lutz
    TV Anchor Woman

  36. Obba Babatundé

    Obba Babatundé
    TV Anchor Man

  37. GM

    George Michael
    TV Sportscaster

  38. JD

    Jim Dratfield
    Sen. Martin's Aide

  39. S

    1st Reporter

  40. RS

    Rebecca Saxon
    2nd Reporter

  41. Cynthia Ettinger

    Cynthia Ettinger
    Officer Jacobs

  42. Brent Hinkley

    Brent Hinkley
    Officer Murray

  43. SW

    Steve Wyatt
    Airport Flirt

  44. DE

    David Early
    Spooked Memphis Cop

  45. Andre B. Blake

    Andre B. Blake
    Tall Memphis Cop

  46. BD

    Bill Dalzell
    Distraught Memphis Cop

  47. Chris Isaak

    Chris Isaak
    SWAT Commander

  48. Daniel von Bargen

    Daniel von Bargen
    SWAT Communicator

  49. Tommy Lafitte

    Tommy Lafitte
    SWAT Shooter

  50. JB

    Josh Broder
    EMS Attendant

  51. Buzz Kilman

    Buzz Kilman
    EMS Driver

  52. Harry Northup

    Harry Northup
    Mr. Bimmel

  53. LR

    Lauren Roselli
    Stacy Hubka

  54. MS

    Maria Skorobogatov
    Young Clarice

  55. LA

    Lamont Arnold
    Flower Delivery Man

  56. JH

    John Hall
    State Trooper (uncredited)

  57. TM

    Ted Monte
    FBI Agent (uncredited)

  58. George A. Romero

    George A. Romero
    FBI Agent in Memphis (uncredited)

  59. John W. Iwanonkiw

    John W. Iwanonkiw
    Orderly (uncredited)

Crew 83


  1. Kristi Zea

    Kristi Zea
    Production Design

  2. TG

    Tim Galvin
    Art Direction

  3. KO

    Karen O'Hara
    Set Decoration

  4. GK

    Gary Kosko
    Assistant Art Director

  5. CK

    C.A. Kelly
    Standby Painter

  6. FB

    Francine Byrne
    Art Department Coordinator

  7. CC

    Chris Call

  8. BH

    Brian Hartman
    Location Scout

  9. SB

    S. Bruce Wineinger
    Construction Coordinator

  10. AM

    Ann Miller
    Property Master


  1. TF

    Tak Fujimoto
    Director of Photography

  2. MS

    Mark Streapy
    Aerial Camera

  3. RA
  4. BM

    Billy Miller
    Key Grip

  5. TC

    Tony C. Jannelli
    Camera Operator

  6. BM

    Bruce MacCallum
    First Assistant Camera

  7. LM

    Larry McConkey
    Steadicam Operator

  8. KR

    Ken Regan
    Still Photographer

Costume & Make-Up

  1. Colleen Atwood

    Colleen Atwood
    Costume Design

  2. EL

    Ed Lohrer III
    Set Dressing Artist

  3. KG

    Kathleen Gerlach
    Assistant Costume Designer

  4. AD

    Alan D'Angerio
    Hair Designer

  5. HT

    Hartsell Taylor
    Costume Supervisor

  6. MB

    Mark Burchard
    Costume Supervisor

  7. AW

    Allen Weisinger
    Makeup Artist


  1. RF

    Richard Fishwick
    Craft Service

  2. TB

    Trish Breganti
    Post Production Assistant

  3. MM

    Matthew Myers
    Production Intern

  4. EG

    Eileen Garrigan
    Scenic Artist

  5. CM

    Catherine Marie McDonald
    Set Production Assistant

  6. DR

    Dennis Radesky
    Transportation Co-Captain

  7. JA

    Judy Arthur
    Unit Publicist

  8. JR

    John Robotham
    Stunt Coordinator

  9. JD

    James Deeth

  10. CF

    Carl Fullerton
    Makeup Effects

  11. DC

    Denny Caira
    Transportation Coordinator

  12. JL

    John Leonidas
    Transportation Captain

  13. George P. Wilbur
  14. WR
  15. Michael Cassidy
  16. DB

    Dwight Benjamin-Creel
    Special Effects

  17. MP

    Marshall Persinger
    Post Production Supervisor

  18. TK

    Todd Kleitsch
    Makeup Effects

  19. NM

    Neal Martz
    Makeup Effects


  1. Jonathan Demme

    Jonathan Demme

  2. RM

    Ronald M. Bozman
    Assistant Director


  1. CM

    Craig McKay

  2. CS

    Colleen Sharp
    First Assistant Editor

  3. ML

    Marissa Littlefield
    Dialogue Editor

  4. DO

    David Orr
    Color Timer


  1. RE
  2. MF

    Michael F. Burke

  3. KC

    Ken Connors
    Best Boy Electric


  1. RM
  2. ES

    Edward Saxon

  3. Kenneth Utt

    Kenneth Utt

  4. HF

    Howard Feuer

  5. GB

    Grace Blake
    Associate Producer

  6. Gary Goetzman

    Gary Goetzman
    Executive Producer

  7. Kenneth Utt

    Kenneth Utt
    Unit Production Manager

  8. LJ

    Larry Jackson
    Executive In Charge Of Production

  9. NK

    Neri Kyle Tannenbaum
    Location Manager

  10. Donna M. Belajac


  1. Howard Shore

    Howard Shore
    Original Music Composer

  2. JF

    John Fundus
    Sound Recordist

  3. DM

    Dennis Maitland II
    Boom Operator

  4. BJ

    Brian Johnson
    Assistant Sound Editor

  5. HD

    Homer Denison

  6. SL

    Skip Lievsay
    Sound Designer

  7. RF

    Robert F. Warren
    Dolby Consultant

  8. SB

    Sharon Boyle
    Music Supervisor

  9. SP

    Suzana Peric
    Music Editor

  10. MA
  11. FK

    Frank Kern

  12. DW

    Deborah Wallach
    ADR & Dubbing

  13. NR

    Nic Ratner

  14. SV
  15. CN

    Chris Newman
    Production Sound Mixer

  16. DB

    David Boulton
    ADR & Dubbing

  17. TF

    Tom Fleischman
    Sound Re-Recording Mixer


  1. TT

    Ted Tally

  2. TH
  3. KI

    Kalina Ivanov

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.