Login to write a review.

Written by xenocast on June 5, 2012

With a movie like this you wonder how all of the otherwise, main characters will work together and support the story.

No problems here. While as might be expected, R. Downey Jr. comes across largely central, it is still a good mix and IMHO the best scenes in the movie involve the generated Hulk character.

With that kind of successful melding of characters, Hollywood-scale egos and even computer generated characters; you have to give it up to the writers and director to make this the successful film that it is.

Written by Gimly on October 27, 2017

A long format review from 2012

My new favourite Marvel Cinematic Universe film, undoubtedly! Order goes thusly;

  1. The Avengers
  2. Iron Man
  3. Thor
  4. Captain America
  5. Iron Man 2
  6. The Incredible Hulk

I had the privilege of going to Sydney and watching this almost a full three weeks before it’s American release, in a special advance screening for fans and a handful of critics. I drove up and back on a day trip with my mate HRV, spent over $400 between us… So worth it.

I think perhaps my expectations of The Avengers were too high. In fact I know they were, even so, I feel... read the rest.

Featured Review

A review by Per Gunnar Jonsson

Written by Per Gunnar Jonsson on January 22, 2018

After the recent disappointments from Marvel, notably Thor and the abysmal second instalment of Ghost Rider, this was a pleasant experience.

The special effects are dazzling, the plot is acceptable and the heroes are not making total idiots out of themselves just because the director wanted some “depth” to their characters. Sure there is a little bickering in between them but not too much to distract from the fun.

I’ve always liked Robert Downey Jr’s portrayal of Tony Stark and his sharp tongue. I did wonder how they where going to get the Hulk in there since he’s supposed to be uncontrol... read the rest.

Written by tmdb44006625 on March 9, 2019

One of the few movies to actually make me feel like a kid again, Joss Whedon was the perfect filmmaker to do this film. Everyone gets their time to shine. The script juggles every plot point and character moment with clarity and ease. It's funny, smart, and visually jaw dropping. Definitely lived up to the five movie hype.

Written by E.J. Cummings on April 9, 2019

I give this 10 Stars based on it being not only better than the trailer and the hype made me thing it would be, but also that it was the first time anything the size and scope of the Marvel Cinematic universe was pulled off successfully. Having Joss direct this movie lives and dies on character interaction. This movie is on the definitive list in my opinion even just for that.

Featured Review

Written by John Chard on August 4, 2019

Everything that's happening, the things that are about to come to light, people might just need a little old fashioned.

The Avengers (AKA: Avengers Assemble) is written and directed by Joss Whedon, with Zak Penn co-writing the story. It stars Robert Downey Junior, Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Tom Hiddlestone, Clark Gregg, Samuel L. Jackson, Cobie Smulders and Stellan Skarsgard. Music is scored by Alan Silvestri and cinematography by Seamus McGarvey.

Asgardian outcast Loki (Hiddlestone) has struck a deal with the Chitauri to exchange the Te... read the rest.

A review by Justin Lopez

Written by Justin Lopez on November 6, 2019

The Avengers is a dream movie come true for superhero fans with its group of extremely talented actors and epic champions, to create an action- packed movie with hilarious banter laced in between scenes. I love how each of the actors and actresses has portrayed each of the roles they were given.

A review by LoganWright

Written by LoganWright on November 7, 2019

Definitely the greatest superhero movie of all time. Marvel has set the bar high with this one and so far, they're doing a good job of keeping up with that despite not being able to raise it higher!

A review by BradleyStewart

Written by BradleyStewart on November 7, 2019

I found it creative of Marvel to introduce each character one by one. It really set the tone and had me looking forward to what's gonna happen.

A review by Jane Hall

Written by Jane Hall on November 7, 2019

Perfect casting! You can really see and feel that the actors have great chemistry both in and out of their characters.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.

Can't find a movie or TV show? Login to create it.

Global

s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page

Want to rate or add this item to a list?

Login