• User


Thomas Hardy's classic epic remains one of the most popular novels, this TV adaptation vividly depicts the powerful tale of a peasant girl whose life is torn apart by the love and jealousy of two men. Justine Waddell stars as the hapless Child of Nature who is tossed around by the dark forces of fate. Jason Flemyng is the dark and sinister Alec D'Urberville whose relentless pursuit of Tess triggers the heroine's downfall. Oliver Milburn plays the handsome young Angel Clare, the caring rebel who falls deeply in love with Tess.

  1. Ian Sharp


  2. Thomas Hardy


  3. Ted Whitehead


Top Billed Cast

  1. Justine Waddell

    Justine Waddell

    Tess Durbeyfield

  2. Jason Flemyng

    Jason Flemyng

    Alec D'Urberville

  3. Oliver Milburn

    Oliver Milburn

    Angel Clare

  4. John McEnery

    John McEnery

    Jack Durbeyfield

  5. Lesley Dunlop

    Lesley Dunlop

    Joan Durbeyfield

Full Cast & Crew

Tess of the D'Urbervilles
Tess of the D'Urbervilles



Status Released

Release Information

  • March 8, 1998


Original Language English

Runtime 3h 0m

Budget -

Revenue -


No genres have been added.


No keywords have been added.

Content Score


Almost there...

Top Contributors

Popularity Trend

By signing up for an account on TMDb, you can post directly to Twitter and Facebook.

You need to be logged in to continue. Click here to login or here to sign up.


s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page