12 films

Taxi Driver

1 Juin 1976

Vétéran de la Guerre du Vietnam, Travis Bickle est chauffeur de taxi dans la ville de New York. Ses rencontres nocturnes et la violence quotidienne dont il est témoin lui font peu à peu perdre la tête. Il se charge bientôt de délivrer une prostituée mineure de ses souteneurs.

La Nuit au musée

7 Février 2007

Le Muséum d'Histoire Naturelle renferme dans ses murs un secret mystérieux et stupéfiant que Larry, nouveau gardien de sécurité, ne va pas tarder à découvrir avec affolement : la nuit, toutes les expositions prennent vie ! Sous ses yeux, les soldats romains et les cow-boys miniatures se lancent dans une guerre acharnée, Attila et ses Huns commencent à piller les expositions avoisinantes, la momie tente de sortir de son sarcophage, le squelette du redoutable – mais néanmoins attachant – tyrannosaure rôde dans les couloirs... Le chaos est total ! Larry pourra-t-il remettre de l'ordre dans ses collections et sauver le musée ?

12 Years a Slave

22 Janvier 2014

Les États-Unis, quelques années avant la guerre de Sécession. Solomon Northup, jeune homme noir originaire de l’État de New York, est enlevé et vendu comme esclave. Face à la cruauté d’un propriétaire de plantation de coton, Solomon se bat pour rester en vie et garder sa dignité. Douze ans plus tard, il va croiser un abolitionniste canadien et cette rencontre va changer sa vie…

Une Place à prendre

29 Mars 1991

Josie est la fille de l'homme d'affaires le plus influent de la ville et désire partir de chez elle. Désorientée, elle s'endort dans un grand magasin. Quand elle se réveille, la nuit est tombée et se retrouve enfermée avec l'homme d'entretien qui s'avère être un menteur invétéré.

Ma vie sans moi

24 Décembre 2003

Anne a 23 ans, deux petites filles, un mari au chômage et un boulot sans intérêt. Un bilan de santé va changer radicalement cette morne existence. Elle dresse la liste de ses priorités, de ses envies, de ses rêves. Maintenant, elle va prendre sa vie en main...

Cashback

10 Septembre 2006

Ben Willis , étudiant aux Beaux-Arts, se fait plaquer par sa petite amie Suzy. Devenu insomniaque suite à cette rupture, il se met à travailler de nuit au supermarché du coin. Là, il fait la connaissance de quelques personnages hauts en couleur qui cultivent, chacun à sa manière, l'art de tromper l'ennui pendant les longues heures de travail. L'art de Ben consiste à imaginer qu'il suspend le temps, ce qui lui permet d'apprécier la beauté du monde « en mode pause » et des êtres qui le peuplent. Il est particulièrement sensible au charme de Sharon, la discrète caissière qui détient peut-être la clé de ses insomnies.

Let Us Prey

17 Avril 2014

Rachel, une agent de police récemment transférée dans un village de campagne, arrête le seul criminel du coin lors de sa première tournée de nuit. Si elle l’arrête facilement, elle ne tarde pas à découvrir que sa présence au commissariat fait remonter à la surface le passé trouble de la petite communauté. Et ces réminiscences prennent des formes diverses : massacre d’une famille entière, crime homophobe...

Life Is Hot in Cracktown

1 Janvier 2009

Nous ne disposons d'aucun résumé traduit en français. Aidez-nous à améliorer notre base de données en l'ajoutant.

Après Minuit

3 Novembre 1989

Un professeur de littérature, Edward Derek, chargé d'apprendre à ses élèves comment faire peur dans la narration, les invite pour leur raconter trois histoires qu'ils ne seront pas prêts d'oublier.

Late Night Shopping

22 Juin 2001

Nous ne disposons d'aucun résumé traduit en français. Aidez-nous à améliorer notre base de données en l'ajoutant.

Nuits

13 Novembre 2014

Une chambre où une jeune femme veille un homme malade. Une autre chambre. Une autre femme attend le réveil de son client. Des rues festives et grouillantes de jeunes, ou presque vides et inquiétantes. Un long voyage d’hiver en autocar. Le récit d'un meurtre. Autant de fragments d’histoires qui s’entrecroisent et entremêlent les formes narratives. Avec la nuit en arrière-plan, comme la chair du monde. Ce film veut explorer des champs du cinéma documentaire où l'expérience sensorielle prend le pas sur l'explication. Il cherche à évoquer divers états nocturnes, des perceptions souvent fugitives et pourtant prégnantes de la nuit.

San o ruži

1 Janvier 1986

Nous ne disposons d'aucun résumé traduit en français. Aidez-nous à améliorer notre base de données en l'ajoutant.

12 movies

Night at the Museum

December 21, 2006

Chaos reigns at the natural history museum when night watchman Larry Daley accidentally stirs up an ancient curse, awakening Attila the Hun, an army of gladiators, a Tyrannosaurus rex and other exhibits.

Cashback

April 20, 2007

After a painful breakup, Ben develops insomnia. To kill time, he starts working the late night shift at the local supermarket, where his artistic imagination runs wild.

My Life Without Me

September 26, 2003

A Pedro Almodovar production in which a fatally ill mother with only two months to live creates a list of things she wants to do before she dies with out telling her family of her illness.

Career Opportunities

March 29, 1991

Josie, the daughter of the town's wealthiest businessman, faces problems at home and wishes to leave town but is disoriented. Her decision is finalized after she falls asleep in a Target dressing room. She awakens to find herself locked in the store overnight with the janitor, Jim, the town "no hoper" and liar.

Let Us Prey

March 25, 2015

Rachel, a rookie cop, is about to begin her first night shift in a neglected police station in a Scottish, backwater town. The kind of place where the tide has gone out and stranded a motley bunch of the aimless, the forgotten, the bitter-and-twisted who all think that, really, they deserve to be somewhere else. They all think they're there by accident and that, with a little luck, life is going to get better. Wrong, on both counts. Six is about to arrive - and All Hell Will Break Loose!

The Curse of Robert the Doll

September 12, 2016

A cash strapped student who starts working the night shift at a Museum suspects that one of the exhibits, a creepy vintage doll named Robert, is alive and wreaking havoc after hours.

After Midnight

November 3, 1989

Horror anthology about a college professor (Zada) teaching a course called "The Psychology of Fear". He brings his students (including psychic McWhirter) to his home, one dark and stormy night to tell scary stories. The first involves a young couple whose car breaks down by an old, abandoned house. The second has four trendy teenage girls getting lost in a bad part of town, and chased by a pack of vicious dogs. Last, we have Helgenberger confronting a stalker at the answering service where she works the night shift.

Late Night Shopping

June 22, 2001

Four friends Sean, Vincent, Lenny and Jody find themselves at something of a deadend. Trapped in a twilight world of permanent night shift work, they hang out together in the local cafe, drinking coffee and entertaining themselves by observing Vincent's unwavering success in pulling women. There seems to be little prospect of change...until Vincent accidently sleeps with Sean's girlfriend.

Life Is Hot in Cracktown

January 1, 2009

Various stories of how crack cocaine has infiltrated the inner-city streets. Based on Buddy Giovinazzo's novel "Life is Hot in Cracktown".

Nights

November 13, 2014

Black and white images shot at night. A camera roams the streets of Montreal in search of sounds, smells and sensations. From the first frame, NIGHTS stakes its ground as a poetic, nomadic experience, an open-ended essay about the countless inner worlds that inhabit the big-city night. Testimonials and confessions gradually emerge, from a photographer to a truck driver, from a baker to a blind woman who had to learn to “see” the world differently. Their experiences overlap, but are unalike. We have the feeling of living different lives, against the grain of normality, and we are not alone in this. Diane Poitras achieves nothing less than the reconstitution of a parallel community.

We don't have an overview translated in English. Help us expand our database by adding one.

Dreaming the Rose

January 1, 1986

Valent is a night shift worker who can barely feed his family. To add the insult to injury, every night he must pass near the butcher's shop with meat products he can't afford. But one night the shop is a scene of a gangland shooting. Valent picks up the bag full of money and a gun, and his life changes.

Global

s focus the search bar
p open profile menu
esc close an open window
? open keyboard shortcut window

On media pages

b go back (or to parent when applicable)
e go to edit page

On TV season pages

(right arrow) go to next season
(left arrow) go to previous season

On TV episode pages

(right arrow) go to next episode
(left arrow) go to previous episode

On all image pages

a open add image window

On all edit pages

t open translation selector
ctrl+ s submit form

On discussion pages

n create new discussion
w toggle watching status
p toggle public/private
c toggle close/open
a open activity
r reply to discussion
l go to last reply
ctrl+ enter submit your message
(right arrow) next page
(left arrow) previous page